• The Conference

FEW Awards

A Tradition of the FEW:
High Octane Award and Award of Excellence

BBI International and Ethanol Producer Magazine will continue the tradition of honoring individuals whose work and efforts in the ethanol industry deserve notice and celebration.


2020 FEW Award of Excellence Nominate Here
2020 FEW High Octane Award Nominate Here
Deadline was June 1st, 2020

A team of industry professionals will review nominations and select this year’s winners.

2020 FEW Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence, established by BBI International in 2000, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the fuel ethanol industry through their research, technical advisory and/or development activities.

2020 FEW High Octane Award

The High Octane Award acknowledges a person who has helped the ethanol industry mature and progress over the years. This award, established in 2000 by BBI International, recognizes a person whose passion and unstoppable pursuits have significantly benefited the ethanol industry. The High Octane Award honors a person for his or her passion and unstoppable pursuits that just seem to drive their daily routines and commitments.

Congratulations to the 2019 FEW Award Recipients

2019 FEW Award of Excellence Recipient
at the FEW in Indianapolis, IN
Dr. Scott Kohl
2019 FEW High Octane Award Recipient
at the FEW in Indianapolis, IN
Steve Vander Griend
ICM Inc., Urban Air Initiative

Here’s a look at the Awards History

2019 Award of Excellence - Dr. Scott Kohl (Franzenburg)
High Octane Award - Steve Vander Griend (KMoore Consulting LLC)
2018 Award of Excellence - Graeme Walker (Abertay University)
High Octane Award - Kristy Moore (ICM Inc., Urban Air Initiative)
2017 Award of Excellence - Dennis Bayrock (Phibro Ethanol Performance Group)
High Octane Award - Geoff Cooper(Renewable Fuels Assocation)
2016 Award of Excellence - Charles Abbas (Archer Daniels Midland)
High Octane Award - Tom Buis (Growth Energy)
2015 Award of Excellence - John Caupert (National Corn-to-Ethanol Research Center)
High Octane Award - Ray Defenbaugh (Big River Resources)
2014 Award of Excellence - Dr. Larson "Lars" Dunn, Jr. (DuPont Industrial Biosciences)
High Octane Award - Shirley Ball (Ethanol Producers and Consumer (EPAC))
2013 Award of Excellence - Dr. Kevin Hicks (USDA, ARS)
High Octane Award - Dan Schwartzkopf (ICM, Inc.)
2012 Award of Excellence - Dr. Gerald Shurson (University of Minnesota)
High Octane Award - Larry Johnson (LLJ Consulting)
2011 Award of Excellence - Dr. Bruce E. Dale (Michigan State University)
High Octane Award - Rick Tolman (National Corn Growers Association)
2010 Award of Excellence - Gunter Brodl (Vogelbush USA)
High Octane Award - Jeff Broin (Poet/Growth Energy)
2009 Award of Excellence - Phil Madson (KATZEN International)
High Octane Award - Kathy Bryan (BBI International)
2008 Award of Excellence - Dr. Jay Shetty (DuPont)
High Octane Award - David Kolsrud (DAK Renewable Energy)
2007 Award of Excellence - Steve Lewis (Poet)
High Octane Award - David Kelsall (Ethanol Technology)

Awards Given Biennial

2000 Award of Excellence - Dr. Raphael Katzen (KATZEN International)
2001 Distinguished Service - Dick Gadomski (Process Systems Inc.)
2002 Award of Excellence - Dr. Rodney Bothast (Nat’l Corn-Etoh Research Center)
2003 Distinguished Service - Dave Vander Griend (ICM Inc.)
2004 Award of Excellence - Dennis Vander Griend (ICM Inc.)
2005 Distinguished Service - Patrick Foody (IOGEN)
2006 Award of Excellence - Dr. Mike Ingledew (Univ of Saskatchewan)

Platinum Level Sponsors

Gold Level Sponsors

Silver Level Sponsors

Supporting Organizations

Media Partner

Produced By